About Us 2017-11-17T20:22:55+00:00

About Us

WESCOM was formed in 1992 under the Intergovernmental Cooperation Act of Illinois, 5-ILCS- 220. It is a free-standing entity and a special unit of local government with nineteen member agencies and one associate agency. WESCOM is governed by an Executive Board consisting of Mayors and Presidents of Fire Protection Districts (or their designees).

The Executive Board meets quarterly or as needed and sets policy for the organization.

The Fiscal Year is May 1 through April 30.

For daily operations, WESCOM has a Chiefs Operating Committee which meets monthly and implements the policy of the Executive Board. Each agency chief (or designee) meets to review expenses, approve purchases pursuant to the budget, and discusses performance of WESCOM.

The Police Operations Committee meets every other month, or as needed, to refine police dispatch functions including procedures and guidelines for the proper dispatch of police agencies.

The Fire Operations Committee meets monthly, or as needed, to refine fire dispatch functions including procedures and guidelines for the proper dispatch of fire agencies.

The Rules Committee works on Policies and Procedures for overall operations including best practices and Unified Command procedures.

The Finance Committee participates in the draft budget and reviews the budget and expenses. The Finance Committee consists of members of both the Executive Board and Chiefs Operating Committee.

The Personnel Committee works with the Executive Director for hiring, promotions, discipline, and dismissal of employees and consists of agency Chiefs, Supervisors, and Board members.

The Strategic Planning Committee updates the WESCOM Strategic Plan annually which is approved and adopted by the Chiefs Operating Committee and the Executive Board prior to the Budget cycle.

The Negotiations Committee represents WESCOM in the planning, bargaining, and labor contract implementation.